I still remember you!

As the first finger of dawn touched the sky and birds twittered in the trees,
you would call me and tell me about your crazy and funny dreams.
Just to discuss physics, mathematics problems and your self-discovered theories,
you would wake me up in middle of my sleep and start off with your intellectual series.

We went bonkers, we went lame and that was all fun and good times of my life,
cause you were my companion, a shoulder to cry on and a partner in crime .
But when an event shakes the foundation of your beautiful friendship,
it can be hard to find a way to pick up the pieces and rebuild your relationship.

It’s so hard to watch you cry, and pretend I don’t feel a thing,
it’s so hard to carry on, like nothing is wrong and you still have everything.
Yes, we must ever be friends, the first, the truest, the nearest and dearest, we said,
regardless of how compatible you are at the height of the friendship, it may end .

Now, being around with you is a downer, you are negative and you are insulting,
and I think, I might be better off without your friendship, which is not worth keeping .
I was not angry with you, I was angry when I find myself alone,
with only memories around me and the silent wind that blows.

It is no secret I tell you, nor am I ashamed to declare those plain words I say
I have liked to be with you, to see you, to speak with you always.
Running through caverns of darkness, unheard, unseen and unfruitful;
much more to me was your friendship, I must tell you this truth.

When you know that your friend is everything to you, your strength, your world
you make significant headway towards getting back the friend you once had.
But sometimes, you wonder if the friendship is even worth the effort of saving it,
when your friend says, ”we simply drifted apart and that it’s your fault that it ended”.

Now, let us be what we are, and speak what we think, and keep ourselves loyal to truth,
cause now there’s load on my chest and, I have lost trust in you and all my strength.
Now, let us end this relation, this name sake friendship which is now a burden for you,
acknowledging the fact that you have walked out of my life without giving me a clue.

For there are moments in life, when the heart is so full of emotion,
when you let go a person, you love, you don’t feel any motion .
Now, I’ll re-discover myslef, I’ll try to trust people again, I’ll try to smile again without you,
if you weren’t meant to be, you won’t be and this is how life goes, so it’s better to let it go.

Here thinking about you and penning down all my thoughts and emotion I had for you,
simply because the mind doesn’t show but the heart says ‘I still remember you’.
I’ll always cherish those lovely moments I spent with you, crazy things I did with you,
times when you were to pick me up when I stumble and fall , cause I still remember you.

– Kritika Vashist

Image

2 thoughts on “I still remember you!

Share your thought

