Naked

Image of a Naked Tree taken in the evening

When the sun has caved in
and when the sky has worn
the color of white wine;
I want you to come
to enliven my soul with
your profound dialogues.

When my body is still
and my thoughts wander;
I want you to hold me
to direct my conscious
to stimulate my intellect.

When I’ve enveloped myself
with all my disappointments
blotching my unwrinkled skin;
I want you to heal me
to stretch out my branches
to pluck off my sorrows and regrets.

When I’ve thrown all of my
fears, secrets and stories
locking them inside my heart;
I want you to unlatch the door
to collect them with care
to meet all the unknowns.

When my true self has veiled
behind my skin and bones,
When my pain has disguised
itself in my fanciful laugh;
I want you to uncover me
to welcome my flaws
to kiss my tears
to procure my faith
to love me whole only after
you’ve touched my naked soul.

DAY 2

This is in response to Prateek’s Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge. Thank you Prateek for giving me this wonderful opportunity.

The challenge is – “Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”

My Nomination for Day 2 is The song writer soul. All the best 🙂

Kritika Vashist

36 thoughts on “Naked

  1. Hi Kritika : Re your challenge – yes I could but, with the greatest respect will not. The photos and stories are not a problem as you well know however, I do not like obligating others to do something. I realize that it can be considered as fun; as honing blogging skills; as stretching creativity: as simple networking, and it is all those things. It is also putting people in a position where perhaps they would rather not be. The thought really was appreciated but I decline challenges and awards when part of the obligation is to involve others. Given the sensitivity of your writings, I have no doubt that you will (perhaps on reflection) understand. Regards. Colin.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This poem reminds me of Christopher Poindexter’s quote:

    ‘I will love you not starting with your skin or your organs or your bones: I will love madly first, your naked soul.’

    I liked the flow of this poem.

    -Naima

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The picture. Wow ! The imagery of plucking of sorrows and regrets from the branches from the naked soul going hand in hand with the picture of a tired tree waiting to get stimulated – It is such an intelligent connection! *whistles* for this post !

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thought

