​What do you want to do next?

I have been on this vacation with you for the last few months. It might seem like one of those long vacations one would dream of, but we know that this hasn’t been quite like that. When one falls in love with a place, they only wish to stay there and never want to leave. I guess, it happened with me after we saw that sunset behind the mountains together. It was the same sunset, but what the blue did to me, the orange glow of the dusk couldn’t do for you. Perhaps, it wasn’t  enough to make you stay even for one more sunset. 

Did we plan what our last destination would be? I do not remember us deciding where and when do we stop, or how do we go back from where we started. Maybe we are acting like kids, but it feels good to know that the happiness of being foolish is real.

There is a playlist of memories that I have unknowingly created with you on this journey, and whenever I close my eyes to listen even while I am living a few of them, my heart tells me that this vacation is going to be the longest one that it will carry. I do not know if I like to hear that, but I don’t mind believing that it’s true. I am not afraid of forgetting. I’m afraid of not remembering them enough.

I have been on this vacation with you for the last few months, and I believe you enough to know that we are only going to visit good places. I do not ask you where you want to go next, but I want to ask what you want to do next. It’s getting a bit chilly today, so before we begin would you help me light the fire? 

Kritika Vashist

Share your thought